Welcome to True North Outdoor Hunting Forum - British Columbia and Beyond

It looks like you haven't created an account yet. Why not take a minute to register for your own free account now? As a member you get free access to all of our forums and posts plus the ability to post your own messages, communicate directly with other members and much more.

Register Log in

Traditional Flemish Bowstrings

Users who viewed this discussion (Total:10)

blacktail

Custom Knives and Game Calls
Reaction score
First off I want to tell you that I am no expert here but have been shooting traditional equipment for close to 40 years.
I have made my own wooden arrows from scratch and cut feathers to fletch from raw goose and Turkey wing feather.
This is how I do things so don't take it as gospel but like I said it has worked for me for 40 years.

I want to give you a little insight on traditional bow strings the way I make them.
A true Flemish string is one that has three distinct plies that are twisted and braided to form a kind of rope.
Those bowstrings that have only two plies are considered as hand laid strings although they are twist in much the same fashion.

blacktail

Reaction score
To start with I have a jig to make them that is marked off to give me the length of string I need for a particular bow length.20191017_145153.jpg20191017_145423.jpg

Last edited:

blacktail

Reaction score
When all three bundles are strung and cut then the work begins20191017_150159.jpg

I have markings on my jig to space for the lower limb and upper limb as this upper one will have to be made slightly larger to enable it to slide down the limb
20191017_150253.jpg

blacktail

Reaction score
When twisting and laying back the strands will fall into place and twist to for the braid.20191017_150630.jpg

When the desired length is achieved it is folded over and braided back into itself to form the loop and the individual strand lock into each other20191017_151400.jpg